WWIIReenacting.co.uk Forums

Uniting UK Re-enactors since 2003
 

It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:50 am

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 16:59 pm 
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 18:06 pm
Posts: 475
Location: Surrey & Hampshire
Group: On Parade & The Law at War
I've got my fathers old Kodak Vigilant Junior six-20 which, as I'm sure you an guess, takes 620 film. Is there anywhere that still sells 620 film an if so - why sort of prices are we looking at?

Image

Beautiful camera. I've used it years ago but haven't had a chance to recently and of course now i come to use it again - film has died out and everything is digital!

_________________
Image
"Welcome to the Darts Brigade sunshine, the 3-quid-a-week army-dodgers."


Top
 

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username
Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 17:18 pm 
3000+ Poster
User avatar
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 15:27 pm
Posts: 3651
Location: West Yorks
Real Name: Allen
Group: Independant
Not really ... you may come across some on e-bay ..

120 and 620 film are essentially the same it is the spools only that are different and 120 is easier to get, so all you need to do is 'decant' a 120 film onto a 620 spool in a dark bag ... simples ... :) ... well OK if you know what your doing ... seriously it can be done that way if you cant find any 620 on e-bay.

update .. just checked on e-bay myself ... interesting ...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/Cameras-Photo ... w=620+film

_________________
War Correspondent
United Press
'The Writing 69th'
8th USAAF
Somewhere in England

... " I got vision and the rest of the world is wearing bifocals " ...

... " I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them " ...


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 17:44 pm 
3000+ Poster
User avatar
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 15:27 pm
Posts: 3651
Location: West Yorks
Real Name: Allen
Group: Independant
120 to the left .. 620 to the right ..


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
War Correspondent
United Press
'The Writing 69th'
8th USAAF
Somewhere in England

... " I got vision and the rest of the world is wearing bifocals " ...

... " I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them " ...


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 18:15 pm 
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 18:06 pm
Posts: 475
Location: Surrey & Hampshire
Group: On Parade & The Law at War
I wouldn't do it to this camera as its family. But would there be a crime in buying another cheap old camera like the Vigilant, and converting it to be a 'case' for a modern digital camera?

_________________
Image
"Welcome to the Darts Brigade sunshine, the 3-quid-a-week army-dodgers."


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 18:32 pm 
3000+ Poster
User avatar
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 15:27 pm
Posts: 3651
Location: West Yorks
Real Name: Allen
Group: Independant
Hmmm..... seen it done, not sure how I feel about it as I only shoot film in WWII re-enactment, nothing wrong with digital of course and it would at least look like you are using an old (period) camera, I agree though that where an old camera is still usable and serviceable (or as in your case has attachments) it is a crime to butcher it for other use, however if you can find a u/s one that cant be repaired, then in a way you would be giving it a new lease on life so's to speak to do as you suggest .. :)

_________________
War Correspondent
United Press
'The Writing 69th'
8th USAAF
Somewhere in England

... " I got vision and the rest of the world is wearing bifocals " ...

... " I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them " ...


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 21:01 pm 
1000+ Poster
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 9:09 am
Posts: 1855
Location: The Lowlands
Real Name: Rick
Group: Voorwaarts MARS
It's easier to build a black box around a digital point&shoot with some bits and frills.

Hmm, just checked to make sure, as some 620 format cameras can be fed from 120 film spools. Unfortunately the Vigilant was designed to not do this (curse you Kodak!) unless you trim and grind down the flanges of the 120 spools.

If you have a change bag (or a darkroom) you can respool 120 film to 620 spools yourself as Allen said. There are several tutorials on the net on how to do this. There are also some US shops that sell respooled film but be prepaired to pay extra for the service.

_________________
In Tabulas Argenteas Refero


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 21:18 pm 
3000+ Poster
User avatar
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 15:27 pm
Posts: 3651
Location: West Yorks
Real Name: Allen
Group: Independant
There was some respooled 120 listed on that e-bay link Rick, .. never seen them for sale before .. in date too

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lot-of-5-Neop ... 20d1d0853a

looks like someone found a niche in the market ... :)

_________________
War Correspondent
United Press
'The Writing 69th'
8th USAAF
Somewhere in England

... " I got vision and the rest of the world is wearing bifocals " ...

... " I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them " ...


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:08 am 
1000+ Poster
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 9:09 am
Posts: 1855
Location: The Lowlands
Real Name: Rick
Group: Voorwaarts MARS
That's not a bad price yet for 5 rolls. ;)

_________________
In Tabulas Argenteas Refero


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:10 am 
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 17:50 pm
Posts: 11
Real Name: Timothy Smith
cut the edge off the plastic 120 spool and it will work in a 620 camera, just be sure to tell the developer that its 620, they are a different size to develop, and make sure you get your 620 uptake spool back


Top
 

Offline
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:17 am 
1000+ Poster
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 9:09 am
Posts: 1855
Location: The Lowlands
Real Name: Rick
Group: Voorwaarts MARS
Not every 620 format camera will take trimmed-down 120 spools. Kodak made sure the tolerances were too fine for that.
But if it works, you still need a 620 spool on the take-up side, or you can't wind on the film.

No need to tell the lab anything if they develop 120 format, except that you'd like the original spool back from them.

_________________
In Tabulas Argenteas Refero


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: