WWIIReenacting.co.uk Forums

Uniting UK Re-enactors since 2003

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 17:55 pm

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 457 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 29  Next
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:23 pm 

Are there any people on the forum who are regularly taking pictures using original cameras?

I have been using a (1934) Leica Standard on and off for a couple of years now. I find that the lenses that are available really add something that you don't get with modern (much higher quality) lenses. I have recently bought a Russian Rip off Contax II as it has a built in range finder so should be easer to use than my Standard & would appreciate any suggestions for a good 30's lens to use with it.

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:28 pm 

I use to have a Brownie Box camera from the thirties, but the picture quality is so poor that I sold it.

''Keep your eyes wide open. Tune yourself to the top most pitch. Be nimble as a greyhound, as tough as leather, as hard as Krupp steel and so you shall be the German warrior incarnate.'' - Fallschirmjäger Commandments No.10.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 18:07 pm 
1000+ Poster

General Ignorance wrote:
Are there any people on the forum who are regularly taking pictures using original cameras?

I have been using a (1934) Leica Standard on and off for a couple of years now. I find that the lenses that are available really add something that you don't get with modern (much higher quality) lenses. I have recently bought a Russian Rip off Contax II as it has a built in range finder so should be easer to use than my Standard & would appreciate any suggestions for a good 30's lens to use with it.