WWIIReenacting.co.uk Forums

Uniting UK Re-enactors since 2003

It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 21:31 pm

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username

Post subject: Hello
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:11 pm 

Hi there. I'm new to WW2 re-enactment, having been tempted into it by one of my friends. I already do Dark Ages and Medieval re-enactment, but I've got an academic interest in WW2 so it wasn't too hard to bring me over into this period. I'm looking to assemble British kit so I can start going to events, as well as some DAK stuff, and I'd love to get some advice on where to source kit from and exactly what I need.

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username
 Post subject: Re: Hello
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 20:00 pm 

Group: 2nd Btln Royal Warwicks
Hi Sam,

Welcome to the world of weapons that you don't (always) have to hit people with. If you feel nostalgic at any point then the British Entrenching tool is quite good as a clobbering stick :wink:

Where are you based?

www.royalwarwicks.com

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 0:19 am 

Hey Shifty,

I'll keep that one in mind although as a halberdier I might find myself fixing bayonet for a bit of polearm work as well. :P

I'm based in Leeds at the moment, but for how long depends on whether I get research grant to further my work.

My main focus at the moment is acquiring uniform although it's a slow process, since I don't want to be getting neck-deep into WW2 stuff, buying all brand-new kit and throwing down tons of money, without knowing whether I'm going to enjoy it yet. (Like any re-enactment period really).

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:00 pm 

Try the NoI MkIII SMLE rifle with bayonet, that one will be more to your taste I think :wink: