WWIIReenacting.co.uk Forums

Uniting UK Re-enactors since 2003

It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:33 am

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username

Post subject: Hello :-)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 18:42 pm 

Hi, I'm Maria and I'm new to re-enacting (eek!), having been bitten by the bug at a couple of recent events - Solent Overlord and 'War on the Line' at the Watercress Line in Hampshire.

I went along to these events as I'm a keen photographer and a friend suggested it might be something different. Well, I have to say I was utterly delighted with my visits, every re-enactor I spoke to (apart from one grumpy old general) was delighted to have their pic taken, but the thing that really made me want to become involved myself, was that everyone had their own little snippet of history to share and their own story to tell - It brought WWII to life for me and (this may sound daft) but the realities of what people had to deal with and suffer became tangible and real instead of a second hand story.

My father fought in WWII but sadly died of a heart attack when I was 22, some 27 years ago now... and I was never interested in anything he had to say (as you never are at that age), which I have regrets about now as I'd love to hear about his life and experiences.

Anyway, I'm just going to 'dip my toe' as a civilian lady (a rather cowardly one!) and I've acquired a couple of bits & bobs and something to wear - I feel a bit shy about sharing with you as I'm sure I've got it wrong, but we all learn by our mistakes and I'm happy to get pointers and be nudged in the right direction....

Thanks
Maria

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username
 Post subject: Re: Hello :-)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 18:44 pm 

Group: 2nd Armoured In Europe