WWIIReenacting.co.uk Forums

Uniting UK Re-enactors since 2003

It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:59 am

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username

Post subject: Help identifying a sword
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:01 am 

Group: AFLHA
Hi chaps and chapettes,

I got talking with a friend of mine recently about the hobby and he got talking about a sword he had from his great grandad that he knew very little about and asked if i would take a look at it for him. I am no expert really but said i would. There are no markings on it what so ever so i am stumped. I was wondering if there is anyone here that may be able to shed some light on exactly what it is. I assume its a ceramonial sword due to it not being sharpened, but any help would be appreciated. By the look of it i believe it may also be WW1, maybe even pre that, but like i said, im no expert. On the last picture there does seem to have been a more 'modern' repair to it as there is a rusted nut on the base of the handle.

Any help or advice would be greatly welcomed.

Cheers
Chris

Well, what I mean by that, sir, is... if you was to put me and this here sniper rifle anywhere up to and including one mile of Adolf Hitler with a clear line of sight, sir... pack your bags, fellas, war's over. Amen.

Kirk Lazarus: I know who I am! I'm a dude playing a dude disgused as another dude!

Support the Forum
END OF YEAR OFFER - HALF PRICE SUPPORTER MEMBERSHIPS - CLICK THE BANNER TO READ MORE AND SUPPORT THE FORUM

Username
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:18 am 
1000+ Poster
 WWW  Profile

Group: WW2 Tommies
I'm no expert, but that doesn't look like it's a military sword. My guess is that it is a cheap souvenir to hang on the wall.

Doing an Airborne impression? Want to try jumping out of an original C-47?

http://www.wwiiadt.org

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:23 am 
4000+ Poster

Group: Thunder From Heaven Retired list
Chris